Leaving Money on The Table

hbkmat

Expert
Hello I was wondering how hard it is to do auto and homeowners First off because I think that doing there health im sure clients would be receptive to getting auto and homeowners quotes to save money. I got a quote from a company in CA and it looked straight forward for auto. Is anybody doing this and does it work?

I am licensed in P&C as well as L/A/H. I used to be a captive agent on the P&C side. Auto is easy, just depends on the MVR, age, zip, gender, make & model of auto, and insured to amounts.

Property (Home) is not bad but much more detailed. Depending on the insured to amount for replacement, you have to tweak the company software to fit your dollar amount. EX: if home is valued at 500K, you have to detail different types of flooring/counter tops/alarm systems/roofing/structure/fireplace/etc. so that the dollar value is accounted for. That part is a PITA.

You also have a lot of service work - lots and lots of service work. Extremely time consuming between quoting and service. If you think Health/Life has tire kickers, wait till you start using up time on the P&C tire kickers!

Although I am licensed, I refer all P&C business to my good friend who is a P&C broker. He refers all of his Health business to me. It makes for a great business relationship and the customer wins.

I work the other way around. I focus on P&C, and write health for my clients that need it. Why? P&C is much easier to write. It takes me 45 minutes to write a homeowners policy, and it's done. My market is considerably different than BKrocko's, home value is not the issue. It does have to be documented, but it really doesn't take to long.