Leaving the comfort of a salary to start own agency

insurancegal

Hi everyone,
I am a P&C agent with a reputable brokerage making just about six figures a year. I have been thinking for a long time now to start my own agency but I am a bit scared to leave a salary paying job to work on my own - commission only. I have about 10 years experience in this field and know all the carriers I would like to continue to work with.

I realize I would not have a book to roll over, as I have a non-compete with my company, but I can always find other agencies such as NIA to get to these markets until I grow my book. I have become extremely BORED with my job! I think the company I work for is a very good one, I just don't see myself growing or learning anything new. Everyone in my office is older and have become complacent, I cannot learn anything from them.

I feel I can do this on my own but just thought I would get other experienced agent's thoughts or advice. Should I just look to work for another brokerage or should I start my own agency?

Thanks so much!

If you have 6-12 months of reserves in the bank, you would be crazy not to start your own agency with your experience. If you are looking to stay in P&C keep in mind you will probably want to have an office and your E&O will be much more than if you decide to the L&H route...

I am in the same boat. I thinking about leaving a decent salary with an excellent LH company. It's just hard to imagine myself 10-15 years down the road. So I have my PC license now. I have over 1000 clients with just LH. Where can I get an appointment to do PC? Is it as easy as I think?

You guys sound like you are in an excellent place to be successful on your own. However, it also sounds like an attack of midlife crisis. I know because I have been there and I took the risk but I was internally DRIVEN.

Last edited: