Lessons from Dick’s Drive-In on Minimum Wage, Employee Benefits

Shocker isn't it.

Another good one is Costco vs Sam's Club. Costco pays their employees more, but they also get significantly higher sales per employee and square foot.

Better paid and treated employees are happier employees. Happier employees are more productive, so everyone wins.

Shocker isn't it.

Another good one is Costco vs Sam's Club. Costco pays their employees more, but they also get significantly higher sales per employee and square foot.

Better paid and treated employees are happier employees. Happier employees are more productive, so everyone wins.

But is it a chicken or egg equation? Do they market to get significantly higher sales and because of that can afford to pay employees more.....

I have no experience with Costco as there are none around here how are they different than a Sams Club or BJs?

Shocker isn't it. Another good one is Costco vs Sam's Club. Costco pays their employees more, but they also get significantly higher sales per employee and square foot. Better paid and treated employees are happier employees. Happier employees are more productive, so everyone wins.
Costco draws a much more affluent, more educated clientele than Sam's. They spend more per employee because they have more to spend. The hourly wage of the employees may have a small impact on that, but as a member of both clubs I don't find customer service any easier to find wandering through a Costco unable to find what I'm looking for than at Sams. Trader Joe's also gets much greater sales per employee than most chain grocers and they pay staff more. But, like Costco, it's because their customers are richer more than because higher paid staff make customers spend more.