Let's Talk Cold Calling

lynno

I have been in the business for a year now. I love what I do and I love the people I work with and for. I am a captive agent with a book of clients given to me through the company. The book has worked well for me and I have built a good relationship with the majority of my clients. But now it is time to hit the streets and go door to door.

Going to someone's door and trying to get them to talk to me isn't something that is generally easy in today's world. Any suggestions are quite welcomed.

Looking for tips, suggestions and stories from other agents. Things they have encountered while knocking on doors, and the do's and don'ts of doing it.

I never knocked on doors, just used the phone to cold call to get an appointment and bring a mentor. IMO, those that cold call effectively and can stick with it are the real warriors, it is TOUGH. I've never met a person that was good at cold calling ever flunk out of the business.

Going to someone's door and trying to get them to talk to me isn't something that is generally easy in today's world. Any suggestions are quite welcomed.

The hardest part of going B2B is opening up the car door to get out! I used to go B2B for about a year until I found ut about a marvelous invention called the "telephone." That little gadget has saved me more time and energy versus any nice pair of shoes. Now my hardest part is picking up the telephone and start calling. As was the case with B2B or telemarketing ....after 15-20 or so pitches you get into your groove.

Rules of Engagement
1. Be polite
2. Smile
3. Respect the fact that you have interrupted the owner.
4. Be direct in your pitch and ask for a yes or no.
5. Leave a flyer to keep the door open
6. Track your progress via business cards, doors knocked, offers, rejections, etc.

Looking for tips, suggestions and stories from other agents. Things they have encountered while knocking on doors, and the do's and don'ts of doing it.[/quote]