Life Insurance in a Recession

MindfulAction

I am an aspiring potential new agent. I was planning on beginning studying for my life insurance exam and taking the test as soon as a testing center opens up in my area. I am very concerned how the current economic and health climate will affect my initial start in sales. I was planning on starting and focusing on life insurance telesales (mainly FE). I realize the main market for FE is the senior population, and a large chunk of them are living on a fixed income.

I am curious to hear about insurance professionals' experiences during the 2008 recession. How heavily impacted was your business? What insurance products tend to be more vulnerable during economic stress? Would you recommend someone get started in this business as of now?

Thank you so much in advance for providing your valuable insight. Hope everyone is doing alright! :)

I am curious to hear about insurance professionals' experiences during the 2008 recession. How heavily impacted was your business? What insurance products tend to be more vulnerable during economic stress? Would you recommend someone get started in this business as of now?

There is always someone making money.

What problems are you helping people solve? Product salespeople suffer the most during an economic downturn. But problem solvers are far more marketable.

Btw, right now, we're in an economic SHUT-DOWN, not a "recession". So I think there's a huge difference right now, but you're looking to position yourself well once things are picking back up.

Watch these two videos for some great ideas:
The economy and common-sense brilliance

10 minutes of favorite sales ideas from two industry greats

There is always someone making money.

What problems are you helping people solve? Product salespeople suffer the most during an economic downturn. But problem solvers are far more marketable.