Life Settlement

warrenins

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
Wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction regarding Life Settlements.
A friend of mine, female age 69 has a UL policy with a face amount of $250,000. Because of life situations she has never really been able to prepare for retirement (kids "needing" money, etc...). She would like to be able to live out her remaining years in some sort of comfortable mode. I mentioned life settlement to her as a possible way to help in that area. Although I'm an agent I'm researching this as a friend only. I told her I have heard about it and read just a little about it but it was out of my area of expertise.
Are there reputable companies out there that I could help her get in touch with?

p.s. I don't think the policy has very much cash value so that really isn't an option to surrender the policy for the cash.

Generally speaking, life settlements have a horrible reputation for being less than legal, and corrupt, and generally something you should stay away from. I am not accusing anybody, nor slandering, I am just saying they have a bad reputation- in general. Maybe you can find some legit deal, I don't know, but research this thing really, really well.

The life settlement business is no different than any other American industry, full of greed.

There are good companies. One is Life Partners. However, they buy policies of those who are terminally ill.

If you friend has a paid for home or plenty of equity, she would do well with a reverse mortgage if it will work out. If she has a small mortgage, she can eliminate the payment.

Life Partners is not a reputable company. They are one of the only ls companies that have actually been banned from a handful of states.

If you friend can wait, have her wait till Feb or March to sell her policy, the market is pricing very low right now but is estimated to bounce back in Feb.

What area are you in and I'll refer you to a good broker close to you.