Listen and Help Please

alphawave2k

Guru
100+ Post Club
So here I am a somewhat experienced Medicare agent/whatever you want to call me and this is my personal dilemma. Wife retired from GA School system and got on Medicare and SHBP MAPD..(which is not what I wanted, but she insisted). I turned 65 Jan '18 and never apparently "officially" signed up according to SHBP folks, though the whole family has been on their health plans. They also claim I/we received notifications along the way to sign up, but perhaps in the sea of mail and notifications we may have inadvertently thrown it out....baby with the bathwater scenario potentially, so shame on me.
So if everything had run according to plan, our premiums for this great plan outside of our Part B, are ~$30/mo for the 2 of us..great, right? So, because I missed signing up before my birthday month which I honestly thought they'd migrate me automatically, the SHBP folks are saying I owe $1800 for one month penalty, and if we don't pay it, they will cancel our plan. I think this is so wrong in so many ways, I can't begin to say.....luckily we're both within our OEP for Med Supp, etc, so that is our 2nd option for now.
Any thoughts on why and how they can exact that type of penalty/ I've called and have the issue "escalated", but it seems the wheels of competence and customer satisfaction grind slowly. I am so incensed I can scream out loud, and did several times.
Any ideas, thoughts and how to get this corrected and rescinded by the most civil approach possible, before resorting to my lower income socioeconomic background tactics, are greatly appreciated. Either way, thank you for your ideas, and for letting me vent.....