Local Agent Advantage

somarco

GA Medicare Expert
5000 Post Club
Atlanta
I am a local agent. I have lived in the south all my life. I know most of the college teams and at least some of the pro teams. I know the terrain, the politics and the best places to eat.

I also know the health insurance business very well . . . at least within the confines of the state of Georgia. I know the players, who is hot and who isn't. I know the weaknesses & strengths of each carrier especially as they rank in different parts of the state.

I compete with agents in their own back yard and some from other parts of the country. I have clients who looked at eHealth but never bought and others who looked and bought then later regretted it. I have clients who bought the first thing that was pitched to them from a boiler room call center only to find out the plan they bought wasn't exactly as described on the phone.

My clients can find me 7 days a week by email and most of the time by phone. They don't get a recorded message (unless I am out or on the phone) nor are they screened. They email me at 11 PM and many times get a response within a few minutes or at the least, early the next AM.

Most of my clients have a high deductible, at least $2000 and many more than that. Most do not have copays even though that is what they thought they wanted before they talked with me.

About half own HSA's. I have no idea how many fund them.

I have never met 99% of my clients other than on the phone & email. But they know who I am and refer friends & family on a regular basis.

I wonder how many referrals eHealth gets?

At one time I tried branching outside of my state and wrote a little bit of business in neighboring SC. The hassle factor of keeping up with who was hot regionally and who was not just wasn't worth it.

I figure there are about 200,000 folks in Georgia who currently own individual health insurance and most are paying too much because they have not yet met me.