Loneliness....how do you deal with it?

John Siegal

Hi all,

I am a new health insurance agent. I am working with an IMO but they are not local. I get my leads from online sources...and make calls everyday from my home office. I talk to several people a day and take apps over the phone...but i've noticed an isolation aspect to this job that i haven't encountered in my other sales jobs.

My question is....how do independant agents deal with the isolation issue?

I have sold appliances and other tangible items for over 1 decade...but the isolation aspect of selling as an independant...is pretty tough.

I was thinking of joining an agency...but i want to maximize my income.

Any suggestions to conquer this feeling?

I prefer to stay home. My birds are here. I have found that it is difficult to achieve financial success working with others. Maybe someday I will find others I enjoy spending time with who can make a contribution to my life, instead of sucking me dry.

Meanwhile, there is always the forum.

I just created a social network through my association to deal with this issue - some of my members wanted to network around with other agents - right now we have most 200 signed up to the network. If you want more info just email me.

Go out for lunch and eat with strangers and start a conversation, cold call business owners, become a mentor for a kid, teach adults to read, join a prison ministry, volunteer at a local school, learn to fish and hunt, walk, exercise, go see your relatives, visit nursing homes, join a book club, visit a strip club, learn to shoot a pistol and hang out at the gun range, shoot skeet, grow a garden, work on a house for habitat for humanity.

You can always go out and sell. I am in the Senior Market so most of my stuff has to be face to face, but I cant imagine only being in the office...

I would not give up comp just to have some friends to work with.