Looking for a Disabillity Plan for Myself.

Ksutton

Guru
100+ Post Club
USA
I'm an Indy Life producer - I'm looking for a short and long term disability plan (to insure myself ). Located near Pittsburgh Pa .

Pm me please. Thanks .

I don't have access to much regarding disability, but I do know that you will want to find "own occupation" disability if you can.
Why did you dig up this "one question thread" from a month and a half ago, if you can't help? Are you just padding your posts? Ease up on the pedal there...you'll be able to post links soon enough.
:nah:

Chances are he hasn't purchased that policy yet and you actually helped him with exactly what he was looking for! The other guy/gal, uh, not so much.

Why start a new thread when you can bump one. I'm looking for the same thing. What kind of "own occ" policies are out there for short/long term disability?

If you pay more premium do you just get more $$ when you're considered disabled?

A discussion is fine as I'm not looking to purchase until the end of the year, but any PMs would be fine.

Hoosier,

Likely the only options for short term individual DI is going to be something like AFLAC. In my opinion, don't bother with short term, just make sure you have some cash set aside to weather a short storm.

Long term is what you really need to worry about. As for "own occ" definitions, they vary by company, so you must read the fine print.

I really like the "transitional occupation" definition that Principal uses. too detailed to cover here, but look it up or PM me if you want to discuss.

Your benefit amount is going to be determined by several factors: Your occupation, age, health, etc. Most companies will insure up to about 50% of your pre-disability earnings. So, if you earn $100,000 per year, expect to top out at a monthly benefit of $4,000-$5,000.