Looking for a General Agency

Hello, I'm a former Farmers Agent. What is the a good general agency to join. way too many choices. thanks for your replies

Depends on your focus.....
Appalachian underwriters, Burns & Wilcox, and RPS are big ones. However, there are some real good local MGA's that should not be ignored.

I'm contracted with app und and i like that their products range from preferred to non admitted. They still can't be your only mga, but they do cover a lot of territory. Friendly folks too and responsive. I submitted a piece of business for Lexington about 4 or 5 Wednesday and had a response 9:30 Thursday. They typically firm quote direct select (preferred) business same day, averages about 4 hours. Much quicker than superior access, only thing i don't like is they don't provide CLUE or MVR, so if the quote comes back higher or declined you are left guessing as to why.

So many former farmers agents why?

I've gotten Blue Vase/Silver subsidy/Ran to daylight first 6 months...

Is there something I need to know that's bad with Farmers?

I love Farmers. With them in CA, but licensed in 24 states and counting and need other avenues for writing business for personal lines, primarily new home purchases in those non-resident states, which I can cross-sell and bundle the auto and umbrella at a later date. I just started using SuperiorAccess, but don't like the huge monthly fee or the commission split. I have access to insurance noodle through farmers owned-operated general agency, Kraft Lake, but real slow on quote turn-around, except for the phone quote option through USLI. I've looked at Appalachian Underwriters and Smart Choice and have heard good and bad things. I am appointed with Burns/Wilcox, Tapco, and few others. Any other GA's or Wholesalers to suggest?