Making Farmers Work?!?!

thebig_j

Expert
Hello Everyone. First off I would like to start by thanking everyone for the massive ammount of info on this site. I have been reading everything I can for about the past 10 days, and this is my first post. Sorry if it gets a little long.

My name is Joel and I have been working for Farmers' for about 3 months... (I know I know...) I have sold one renters policy in this time. I have since learned alot about myself and the world of insurance. The most important thing I have learned about insurance (and life) is that anyone can make excuses and fail. So far I have learned these truths, and this is how I feel about them.

1.) 90%+ of insurance agents fail
If a person talked to 10 people and me is my personality enough to make them remember me YES.
Am I a top 10% when it comes to bussiness, marketing, work ethic, and time managment...NO Can I learn this... YES
I have also developed a passion for insurance. I now understand the value of insuance. why its so important, and Why people need protected. I can sell this product. Its just very expensive.

2.) Cold Calls Suck... But I am not afraid of them and they are going to be the majority of my marketing plan come Jan 2nd. I use a single line auto dialer to keep the phone ringing

3.) Farmers' is expensive... But I think they have a market they are competive in... Nice expensive homes and small non-risky bussiness. Their sales idea of educating the customer is GREAT. I will always sell this way. But there is no REAL value in choosing farmers 250/500 liability over Kempers if the price is twice as high.

4.) My DM sucks and I will recieve little training... I have had about 3 conversations with my DM in 3 moths. He has an agant producer who is in charge of hiring and training... and shes less than awesome.

So whats the question? I have lots lol

-Is there anyone around here who has made farmers work? I understand the hard work, and many many chalenges. But it has to be possible.