Manufacturer's Insurance

evoxse

Texas
Hello!

I'm a fairly new agent and have been working at a small independent agency for some time now. I am, by education and past work experience, a mechanical design engineer. I didn't like the work, and an opportunity at a local agency opened up, so I got into insurance after I got my Texas licenses.

I currently work mostly in the personal lines side of the business, but I'd like to get into commercial. More specifically, I want to get into the manufacturer's and engineer's insurance side, but I have no idea where to start. The agency I work at does mostly small business, like LROs, cleaners, small retail shops, and the such.

My question to yall is how can I get started with manufacturer's/engineer's insurance? That is what I want to focus on and specialize in.

The first goal I've set for myself is to get intimately familiar with the manufacturer's/engineer's products offered by Hartford, as we have access to them. This entails reading the appetite guide and read and comprehend (or at least try to) the policy itself.

Tips? Suggestions? Thank you in advanced!!