MAPD PPO vs Medigap?

I'm new to an area that offers some pretty good PPO MAPD plans. My former area didn't have a good one so I rarely sold it.

Here's what I know so far regarding PPOs:

Pro PPO: Supplements don't include prescriptions.

Con PPO:
  • Out of network costs are higher than in network costs on a PPO. Medigap doesn't have a network.
  • Procedures can require pre-authorization on a PPO. Medigap doesn't require pre-auth.
  • The plan can change in the future and you'd be stuck with MAPD vs a Medigap.

What are some of the other "gotchas" that I need to know when dealing with MAPD PPOs versus Medigap?
The plans here look pretty good but I want a client to be stuck with MAPD because of a "con" I wasn't aware of.

I am already very familiar with HMO MAPD so please don't include those. I'm specifically looking for PPO differences to Medigap.

"I am already very familiar with HMO MAPD so please don't include those. I'm specifically looking for PPO differences to Medigap"

If you're familiar with HMO then I assume you have pros and cons MA vrs med supp?

Beyond that Its more HMO Vrs PPO if you already have Med Supp vrs MA

"I am already very familiar with HMO MAPD so please don't include those. I'm specifically looking for PPO differences to Medigap"

If you're familiar with HMO then I assume you have pros and cons MA vrs med supp?

Beyond that Its more HMO Vrs PPO if you already have Med Supp vrs MA

Yes I'm familiar with HMOs, as I said. I'm looking specifically for PPO differences to Medigap beyond the ones I initially stated. All my prospects watch a video that explains the pros and cons of MAPD vs Medigap before I write an application. The video focusses on HMOs. If someone wants a $40 per month PPO vs a Medigap I want to make sure that they are aware of the gotchas beyond what I mentioned in my original post.

The difference between MA and Medsupp is what you need to know Its mostly the same

The difference Between PPO VRS HMO is the next question