Marketing Medicare Supp to Seniors Not in IEP

jmarkk1

Guru
100+ Post Club
Please understand that I'm still relatively new to the Medicare "crowd." I've mainly worked with T65 clients and AEP clients that are switching to another MA plan.

I'm a little confused about what kind of marketing can be done to those seniors outside their enrollment period because the issues of "insurability" seem to be a big problem.

If I'm mailing to seniors 66 and older, I know that some of these clients are interested in "saving" money because their premiums have jumped up on them, but how many of these clients will be able to qualify for coverage? In other words, how realistic is it to write someone outside of their IEP on a med supplement? I know AARP has the ability to go almost 3 yrs. from Part B effective date to write, but other than them, what can be done?

Most seniors that I've met with...keep in mind T65....would not be healthy enough to qualify for med supp outside of IEP.

Any advice?

Good question. I'll be interested in the answers. I just started Med Supps myself, and am purely doing cold calling to t65 lists. I don't mind doing it, but I do want to expand outside the t65. wondering if mailings are a decent way to get their attention or not. I don't think mailings to t65 are useful at all, they get so much crap. I only send a letter out to people who specifically ask for it. There's a thread somewhere about mailings to seniors over 65 and the regulations. Seems to more trouble than it's worth, so maybe just adding that age group to my cold-call list is the better way. cheaper to! haha