Marketing with Mail/postcards Question

It's been a long time since I have visited, but wanted to see if any of you have ever done a mailer and approximately what your success rate has been?

I have an agent who has been approached about participating in a postcard mailer that will be specifically marketing life insurance. The cost would be roughly $.50 per mailer but all leads in his area would come to him with no additional cost. I told him I thought it sounded good because if you mail 1,000 postcards, that is $500 of cost. Even if your response rate is only 2% that is still 20 prospects. Assume you sell 10 of them and they only buy a $20 a month term plan, that is still $2,400 of annual premium. Spending $500 to make $2,400 (at a minimum) sounds like a good deal, right?

But I am not experienced in mailing direct to the consumer, we only work with brtokers. What is everyone's experience with this?

A 2% response rate and selling half those is pretty optimistic. Even 1% would be high.

Assume you sell 10 of them and they only buy a $20 a month term plan, that is still $2,400 of annual premium.

I know that me and another agent are going pay split the $150 for 5K flyers that we created. I am a sucker for old-school tactics, but even if I can only get 5 sales off my investment, I believe is a win. True, the upfront hours of working putting in the foot time might be rough, but who knows how many referrals you will receive. Best thing you can say is that you tried, it didn't work, and continue forward.

Josh, it appears you are in this business. What are reasonable expectations for response and closing rates?

I'd expect the range to be 0%-1%. The pieces themselves can have a lot to do with the results, but without a proven piece I wouldn't expect much. There are a number of vendors that actually do mail for agents regularly and have creatives that have worked, I believe Chris at Lead Connections is the flavor of the month in that department.