Masterdex 10 rollover to roth ira

BUCKEYE

Hi I am a newer agent and one of my clients wants to know if they can convert their masterdex 10 annuity to a roth ira in a different company? I cant find information on it. Thanks for helping.

Buckeye,
M
I just came across your post and my wife is in EXACTLY the same situation as your client.
After spending the last 12 years believing she was in a Roth IRA, as she was told by her broker, we now realize that she is actually in this Allianz Masterdex 10 annuity within a Roth IRA.

Did you have success in extricating your client from this terrible product?
If so, please share your results.

Thank you in advance!

Buckeye,
M
I just came across your post and my wife is in EXACTLY the same situation as your client.
After spending the last 12 years believing she was in a Roth IRA, as she was told by her broker, we now realize that she is actually in this Allianz Masterdex 10 annuity within a Roth IRA.

Did you have success in extricating your client from this terrible product?
If so, please share your results.

Thank you in advance!

Most Masterdex statements Ive seen show strong returns, much higher than most other fixed investments with the same risk profile. (meaning no risk of loss)

The drawback (and what most consumers hate, and why I never sold the product) is that it is essentially a 15 year surrender period.

If I remember correctly, you can take distributions beginning year 10. But you must take them over a minimum of 5 years.

Not much you can do at this point other than begin distributions. You can do a Tax-Free Transfer of Funds yearly to the investment product you prefer (mutual funds, ETFs, CDs, better annuities, etc).

FYI, not all indexed annuities lock up your money like that one does. There are products with just a 5 or 7 year surrender period, and allow a lump sum withdrawal after that period.