Match Bay Windows After Hail Damage?

joeyjoey

Newbie here. First house and first claim. Tried searching for "bay windows" and "matching windows" here with no results so I'm creating a new thread. I think I posted in the wrong section the first time as I did not see the "Consumers" area until now.

We had a significant hail storm destroy our roof, siding, trim, certain windows, and much miscellany.

I was a little surprised that insurance (Liberty Mutual) will only cover the actual windows that were broken, and not the rest of the windows that are matching within the same bay. Is this typical? I have to think it devalues our home to have non-matching windows in the same bay, and the current windows are discontinued wooden double-hung ones. We have an alcove in the kitchen with 4 windows, maybe an inch or so apart, 1 of which was destroyed, and an identical situation in the master bedroom directly above. We also have a bay of 9 windows (3x3) in our family room where the trim is virtually touching, and 3 need to be fully replaced, with 2 more of the highest ones just needing new glass as the seals were broken and they are fixed pane. Maybe I'm crazy, but it just seems like bay windows should be matching, if not all windows within a room (for that matter our whole house has/had matching windows until this event).

Our "matching rider" only mentions roofing and siding. We live in Colorado if that matters.

The adjuster was here today. We're not sure if we're being treated fairly or how to proceed if we're not. Should we just take it up with the next in-office adjuster or our agent? I know we could hire a public adjuster but the cost, as a percentage, will be quite high for our total claim. Does anyone know of precedence or where the law stands on this? My google searches are turning up nothing.

Thanks so much everyone.

Your home policy is responsible to repair what was damaged. They do not have an obligation to replace older items if they are not damaged.