Math teacher thinking of venturing into insurance

figdog

since this post is slightly long, i just want to outline what it will containg

1 - who i am/cirumstances
2 - goals, insurance
3 - questions
4 - demographics of where i live

1 - i am a high school math teacher. this means i have lots of spare time. no essays to read, i grade only tests, work 8am-2pm, summers and holidays off. not married, no kids, no real expenses. very quick learner, graduated from a top university, and have been told my many people i am a natural salesman. this quality has been put to use at work as a teacher, but obviously for no compensation. i am bilingual in spanish and english. i am at 28. i was a track and cross country coach, star athlete in the area, so as a result i know many people my age, and lots of the athletes that i coached and their families.

2 - i have passed both life and health and p&c license tests fairly easily. i want to be compensated for my (supposed selling ability). a friend works for a local independent insurance agency and said they would most likely appoint me. i want to make income to supplement my teachers salary, and possibly after a few years leave teaching (5 or so years down the road). i have decent connections in the real estate market here. i dont mind putting in serious time to build this, but im in no rush. if it takes me 10 years to get where someone full time gets in 5, i dont mind. part of my decision to do this is so i can maybe leave teaching and have a job that gives me a lot of flexibility and free time. i dont want to put in 80+ hours a week .... if i wanted that i would be an investment banker.