Mechanical Breakdown Coverage

1manshow

Guru
1000 Post Club
Pa
Any of you offering the Mechanical Breakdown Contracts to your auto insurance clients ? As a fairly new Mercury agent I just looked into the program and it looks good. As a direct agent I can offer it at a discount from what the car dealers offer(big suprise) and we can solicit and then send info. to everyone who adds a new or used car when they call. I'm guessing it will alienate some of the dealers but who really cares...I'm giving the client a much better deal and plus I make 2 bills on every one that gets issued. I'd be interested in hearing any negatives from someone who is already doing this ??

Any of you offering the Mechanical Breakdown Contracts to your auto insurance clients ? As a fairly new Mercury agent I just looked into the program and it looks good. As a direct agent I can offer it at a discount from what the car dealers offer(big suprise) and we can solicit and then send info. to everyone who adds a new or used car when they call. I'm guessing it will alienate some of the dealers but who really cares...I'm giving the client a much better deal and plus I make 2 bills on every one that gets issued. I'd be interested in hearing any negatives from someone who is already doing this ??

Allstate had a program for a while but it shutdown. The problem as I see it is people don't want to deal with the claims procedure. They'd rather go to the dealer where they bought the car and have the dealer deal with the claims. Plus the dealer rolls it into the loan. While that may not make sense financially, for simplicity sake it makes it a much easier add on to a car sale and a not an insurance sale.

Once they have added the new car to their insurance, chances are if they wanted an extended warranty they've already purchased it.

Of course we never really marketed it either.