Med Supp Signed 6/15. Approved. Effective 6/1.

sshafran

Guru
1000 Post Club
NC
I didn't even know this was possible.

I've been selling supps since 2010. I never even thought to ask if someone signs (underwritten) on 6/15 if we could get a 6/1 effective date. But UHC (evidently) allows this.

Am I slow, or is this just not highly publicized? (If I'm slow, and ya'll knew this already, then ok, I can take it....:D)

Any other carriers allow this? :biggrin:

I didn't even know this was possible.

I've been selling supps since 2010. I never even thought to ask if someone signs (underwritten) on 6/15 if we could get a 6/1 effective date. But UHC (evidently) allows this.

Am I slow, or is this just not highly publicized? (If I'm slow, and ya'll knew this already, then ok, I can take it....:D)

Any other carriers allow this? :biggrin:

Why would anyone want to do that?

Did they ask for a 6/1 effective? Or did UHC automatically give it to them?

I imagine that carriers would have to allow some flexibility, right? I've had a couple cases where my apps were stuck in underwriting for a couple weeks but they honored the original requested effective date.

Did they ask for a 6/1 effective? Or did UHC automatically give it to them?

I imagine that carriers would have to allow some flexibility, right? I've had a couple cases where my apps were stuck in underwriting for a couple weeks but they honored the original requested effective date.

You are speaking of a different situation. He had an app signed on the 15th and effective 15 days prior. Only reason a client would want to do that is if they had a claim that needed paid which I doubt any company would do.

It may have been a mistake, I do know UHC will allow and effective date before app is received as long as signature date was prior to effective. I have had a number of apps signed and dropped in the mail to UHC on the last day of the month and still get a 1st effective