Med Supp Vs Final Expense

I am just starting out(I will be an independent agent) and had planned on focusing on either final expense or med supp. Both involve cold calling and the senior market. I know lots of opinions exist on this next question, but as a newbie in the field, I am trying to decide whether to pursue either med supp or final expense leads. I am leaning towards med supp only, but was wondering what some grizzled vets in the biz have to say looking back in hindsight, if they were to choose one path NOW, what would it be? Thanks for the input, Tom

I am just starting out(I will be an independent agent) and had planned on focusing on either final expense or med supp. Both involve cold calling and the senior market. I know lots of opinions exist on this next question, but as a newbie in the field, I am trying to decide whether to pursue either med supp or final expense leads. I am leaning towards med supp only, but was wondering what some grizzled vets in the biz have to say looking back in hindsight, if they were to choose one path NOW, what would it be? Thanks for the input, Tom

How much money do you have saved up?
Do you plan to sell face to face or over the phone?

These two lines of business are completely different and you will need savings to get started in either one. That being said, if face to face, many agents work the med supp leads, and cross sell final expense. If I were to start over, I would buy med supp leads and cross sell final expense, but only if I had 6 months of expenses as well as lead money set aside