Med Supp Vs Final Expense

I am just starting out(I will be an independent agent) and had planned on focusing on either final expense or med supp. Both involve cold calling and the senior market. I know lots of opinions exist on this next question, but as a newbie in the field, I am trying to decide whether to pursue either med supp or final expense leads. I am leaning towards med supp only, but was wondering what some grizzled vets in the biz have to say looking back in hindsight, if they were to choose one path NOW, what would it be? Thanks for the input, Tom I will f2f or cold call or both.

I am just starting out(I will be an independent agent) and had planned on focusing on either final expense or med supp. Both involve cold calling and the senior market. I know lots of opinions exist on this next question, but as a newbie in the field, I am trying to decide whether to pursue either med supp or final expense leads. I am leaning towards med supp only, but was wondering what some grizzled vets in the biz have to say looking back in hindsight, if they were to choose one path NOW, what would it be? Thanks for the input, Tom I will f2f or cold call or both.

If you need to make money faster FE is the way to go. But if you have some cushion and can take a bit longer to build up a financial flow there are some great reasons to lead with Med Sups and cross sell the FE.

First you want to make sure you are in a good state for Med Sups. Florida for example is not. It's dominated by one company and has a lot of MAPD. So selling Sups is brutal there.

The advantage of leading with Sups is the lead cost is way less. Our agents pay $20 set price for Med Sup leads that have age filters of 65-79 and income filters of $25,000 +. That lead with those filters for FE would be in the $30 range. So you can buy 30 Med Sup leads for the price of 20.