Medicare Part B Only

Hello. I am new to Medicare and have been selling Dual Special Needs plans in KS. I signed up a gentleman the other day whose red white and blue card said "Part B Only" on it. My manager was perplexed, she has sold over 500 apps and never seen that. I went ahead and submitted the app, with full knowledge it may not get approved. But, I did some googling and it just doesn't make sense. I have signed up 20 year olds with Part A and B. Clearly, they did not work 10 quarters. Anyone else run across this?

Thanks!:1cool:

Hello. I am new to Medicare and have been selling Dual Special Needs plans in KS. I signed up a gentleman the other day whose red white and blue card said "Part B Only" on it. My manager was perplexed, she has sold over 500 apps and never seen that. I went ahead and submitted the app, with full knowledge it may not get approved. But, I did some googling and it just doesn't make sense. I have signed up 20 year olds with Part A and B. Clearly, they did not work 10 quarters. Anyone else run across this?

I just had a DSNP case that could explain this.Client didn't have the 10 quarters for free part A so when they were told at the SS office they would have to pay 400.00 for part A they declined it.What the SS office failed to tell the client was that the Medicare Savings program would pay for the Part A-as well as part B

Is that depending on what state it is? I'm in PA and just looked at the MSP guidelines and it doesn't say that about Part A. I think some states have different guidelines.

I also looked at the Four Types of Medicare Savings Programs and only QMB and QDWI pay for Part A, but it doesn't mention anything about them not having worked enough to be eligible.

I have run into this, mainly with immigrants. If they do not have 10 years under their belt to qualify for Medicare Part A and they are dual, Medicaid will pay first for hospitalizations and then Part B pays for the usual, with Medicaid picking up the remaining costs.