Medicare with Aetna supplemental

Kaspery

Hi,

This is my first time reaching out on this forum and it’s possible I missed a similar question being asked but here it goes.

My father is currently on Medicare that either has Aetna as a supplemental plan or is managed by Aetna. He was recently diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer. At every turn his appointments have been cancelled due to insurance initially declining coverage. Since his diagnosis he has had a pet scan cancelled and rescheduled due to insurance and now it’s his radiation which was scheduled for two weeks and then cancelled because of problems through his insurance. He is currently being told to just wait for a call and in the meantime his cancer is progressing fairly rapidly. He is supposed to begin immunotherapy next week and now we are all expecting that appointment to be cancelled as well. We have the understanding that he is terminal with an extremely rare form of cancer which they are attempting treatments without Any documented treatments for his cancer. Is there anything we can do to make this process go more smoothly or do we just have to sit in frustration? We have wonderful doctors on our side that fight for him but is there something we can do as individuals to help their fight?

Thank you for any time or answers!

Thank you for both the sincerity and fast assist. I believe it is part D but I could be incorrect. I’m waiting on a confirmation from him.

Are these experimental treatments not covered by Original Medicare? If they won't pay, the Supplement won't, as they follow OM's guidelines.

Or does he have Medicare Advantage (HMO, PPO)?

He does have Medicare advantage and to my knowledge they are not classified as experimental treatments. The immunotherapy is the Keytruda if that helps answer to the experimental aspect.