My Agency is Incorporating New Bonus Structure this Year.

certifiedak

Hi all,

I have been working as a team member at State Farm agency for about 6 months. It's actually my first experience in the industry and I am enjoying it so far, but it looks like our agency is undergoing some big bonus changes in 2016 that has me a little concerned.

To this point, I have been paid bonuses based on what I sell. I sell a new policy, I receive a flat % as a bonus. Simple, and I usually make an extra $100-$200 per month. This is in addition to a salary.

But this year, we will be using a validation system. I will have a P&C premium threshold, P&C app threshold, Life app threshold and Bank app threshold. Once I meet every criteria, anything above that will be a bonus. If I fail to meet any one of these goals in a given month, I won't receive any bonus money what so ever. The only upside is that once my goal is met, the bonus percents are higher than what they are now.

I can't help but feel unsure about this though. My agent is basically setting my goals at what I have actually been producing these last few months and I'm sure there will be months where I have an incredible P&C sales month, but won't receive a penny in bonuses because I was a credit card or life app short.

Is this pretty standard for agencies? If this is pretty normal I am willing to work even harder but the first impression is really concerning given how I've been earning bonuses to this point. Does anyone have any input or experience with this? Thanks.

I wouldn't be surprised by this in a captive agency, especially with a salary.
Captive agents are typically being leaned on by the sales manager to sell more life and other products besides p&c. Their compensation may also be reduced if they don't meet certain minimums.