Nationwide Health

Hi, I'm rather new to the health ins. field and I'm currently appointed w/Assurant, Nationwide and BCBS in California. I'm wondering how Nationwide is working out for other agents in CA. Many of my applicants have been declined by Nationwide. It seems their underwriting is a lot more strict than others. Any thoughts or tips for a noobie agent? Thanks.

Nationwide also is here in Ohio (I think they are only in two states). Their HSA product is solid and their rates are good...not great. Re their underwriting...similar to UHC, so they rider a lot of stuff.

But they also have a $40-$80 upfront charge since you must be a member of the Farm Bureau. That's one reason why I don't use them very often.

It seems NH's price constantly beats out BCBS & Assurant (not too many options in CA) but strict underwriting is beginning to make me think twice before offering it to applicants. And I have yet to have NH rider any thing. They just flat out decline.

If you are making a lot of your sales by phone I'd suggest getting licensed in another state that has products that you'd like to sell. Even several states if you'd like.

You can get non-resident licenses in a day or 2. Lot of states you can get licensed and apointed with half a dozen good companies for well under $100 total.

Get an unlimited long distance calls line for under $25 a month and you are in business.

Don't let your resident state hold you hostage.

Just my two cents...but you may be more effective if the States border your own.

When I am competing against agents 1000 miles away (and most of the time, we represent the same carriers) I make sure the client knows exactly where we are located (most of the time...within 90 minutes).

Sure, I can't give a better rate by being local, but the proximity factor has steered many customers away from the out-of-state agent.