NEED ADVICE... FIRST POST!

joshril

Guru
1000 Post Club
I am new to the forums. I have had my life/health insurance license for about 5 years. I spent a couple of years working for a captive agency selling crap health insurance until I learned the business and realized I was a moron for thinking it was a decent product. I then moved into banking and obtained my securities licenses (series 6,63) and I am seriously considering going back into insurance sales as an independent agent. I have been a top producer for the captive agency I worked for as well as the bank I have been working with, so I definately have the drive to make it in "the field".. Any suggestions would be appreciated. First off, is "going independent" the best way to go? I have some ideas of some of the companies I'd like to represent, but any feedback would be much appreciated! Also, would like to continue to sell some securities products.. How does that work with the broker/dealer thing??

Thanks!!!

joshril said:
I am new to the forums. I have had my life/health insurance license for about 5 years. I spent a couple of years working for a captive agency selling crap health insurance until I learned the business and realized I was a moron for thinking it was a decent product.

Dude, you've got to tell us who you were with for the "crap health insurance"! Does it start with an "M"? Were there association dues? :lol:

Re: The crap insurance company is....

joshril said:
UA.. through a marketing company with association dues.. I was young and stupid... LOL..

Look, I would say about 90% of us started either with a UA,MEGA,NAA or similar outfit. I, for one, don't feel stupid for doing it because I know what both sides are like now. Stupid would have stayed.

As hard as it is to go independent selling insurance, it is that much harder if you are also focused on selling securities. However, if you really want to go that route, I suggest that you look into a cfp designation.