Need Advice on where to Go from Here.

TransplantTexan

I currently work as an agent team member / producer at a small State Farm agency. Been here since 11/15 and I love the job and the people, but the agent is a real go getter (which is great, a lot agents in the area rest on their book and don't grow), but he is to the point that I feel like the goals he sets are unrealistic. I produce well in P&C, but not so well with Life, which is his biggest focus.

Long story short, I was told Friday morning that he's going to need to trim some fat and unless I hit some big goals this month that I've never hit before it's going to be me. He said I'm not doing bad (he says my performance is great for someone this new to insurance), but out of the two people he hired when he brought me on I'm not doing as well with Life sales (better with P&C) as the other guy. My agent wants high life numbers and although I am steadily increasing my life sales, I guess it's not fast enough.

The biggest goal hurdle to keeping my job is he wants 3 paid and issued life policies by months end with a minimum of $100 in premium. I don't have any life apps and we're already halfway through the month. Even if I got three paid apps tomorrow they probably wouldn't issue fast enough.

Any tips on life sales, or worst case any tips on finding legit insurance sales jobs? I like working for State Farm but I'm in a small town in Michigan with one other SF agent and the next town over good 45 minute commute each way. How bad would it look applying somewhere else after not making the cut with this agent? I think my P&C numbers are strong for the area, I consistently write over $20k/mo in new business, but Life insurance is not my strong point. I'd love to work from home and I have a Michigan resident producer license for P&C, Life, and Health. Thanks!

Last edited: