Need Advice or Maybe Just a Kick in the Backside

AgentJP

If you were a new P&C producer for a captive and you were new in town what would YOU do to get business. I do have a marketing budget so I can spend around $1,000 a month on whatever I see fit so long as my sales manager agrees.

Our market is multi-car home owners. We're very competitive in the right market. Outside of it we're not.

My background is auto sales and I was fairly successful there. We recently moved 400 miles so I have no warm market locally.

I'm about 7 weeks in and thus far I've been working local events, giving away a raffle prize, and calling on the leads. At the moment my closing ratio is abysmal even when we're lower cost. This is something I'm going to improve over time, I'm sure.

I've also been attending realtor meetings and attempting to build up some relationships.

I recently started buying internet leads but I am considering stopping this because it seems like a waste of time. Perhaps there is a better lead provider. Right now I'm using Agent Insider and most of the people I'm contacting are surprised to hear from me and have no interest in even being quoted.

I didn't think this was going to be easy but I also didn't think it was going to be so difficult. I figure if my production doesn't pick up I'll be let go within a month or so and then it is back to he car business for me.

Suggestions - advice - kick in the backside - sarcastic humor - I'm all ears right now.

I use online property records (available in most counties) to search for home sales within certain parameters. I try to look for sales that from 10-11 months ago, so they’re nearing their first renewal on their HO policy. I try to target nicer neighborhoods with homes still selling for $200k+.