Need Help!!! First Health Insurance Client

I have recently started selling health insurance, I previously only dealt with life insurance. This is my first client and I need help.

It is a husband and wife, they were covered under the wifes group health plan with aetna, but she lost her job last year and was supposed to be called back in feb. of this year, but she never did.

She is 60 years old, the husband is 63. She does not smoke and neither does he. She does not have any health issues, but he had prostate cancer last year, had surgery in Nov 09 and everything is normal now (saw the doctor 3 times since surgery).

They are on a limited budget now, only can afford around 300 - 350/month she was given a quote of 200 and something dollars a month with a 60% coinsurance by another agent.

I am appointed with assurant, highmark, bluecross of nepa, celtic, and united health one.

I am still new to health insurance. I just dont know what to do about his cancer. Would he be rated or rejected?

If anyone can offer me and advice or assistance, I would appreciate it.

He would be rejected across the board. Most carriers want clients to be cancer free for 5 years.

If they have been without coverage for 6 months, the husband qualifies for the federal risk pool, although there's no way they'll hit $300/$350 per month.

The wife qualifies for her own plan - around $250 a month. The husband through the risk pool will be around $550.

He would be rejected across the board. Most carriers want clients to be cancer free for 5 years.

If they have been without coverage for 6 months, the husband qualifies for the federal risk pool, although there's no way they'll hit $300/$350 per month.

The wife qualifies for her own plan - around $250 a month. The husband through the risk pool will be around $550.