Need Help: I'm A New Independent Insur Agent in FL

SRadley

I worked for a captive agent for 3+ years and sold P&C at a high level.

I've now been at an independent agency for over a year and I've done well there too, also in P&C.

I'll be starting my own office very soon. My focus will be on home and auto insurance.

Aside from calling the marketing reps from the current carriers that I work with and trying to get direct appointments day 1, what is my backup plan to get carriers on my first day of business if I dont get them through the marketing reps that I currently deal with?

I've heard of clusters, MGAs etc. But if you join these groups, are you still the business owner or just part of a "group" (essentially a representative of the group/cluster) that can pull your appointments at will? If I dont go with a cluster/group/MGA then what is my other fallback option to get carriers day 1 of my agency? Is there a simple/easy company that allows independent agents to quote multiple carriers with but with lesser commisions than having a direct appt?

Also, which clusters/MGAs are the best ones in Florida?

Thanks in advance.

Your [Main] plan should be to start wtih a cluster. And pepper in a few direct appointments where you can get them

You are in Florida? Not a Florida P&C guy - but my understanding is that a pretty hard market. What are other Fl agents telling you right now? Can you still get direct appts in the state right now?

Your [Main] plan should be to start wtih a cluster. And pepper in a few direct appointments where you can get them

You are in Florida? Not a Florida P&C guy - but my understanding is that a pretty hard market. What are other Fl agents telling you right now? Can you still get direct appts in the state right now?

Thanks for the reply.
I believe some agents are getting direct appointments right now but perhaps not as many as pre-covid.
Any idea which clusters are the best here in Florida, for P&C?