Need Help on My Insurance Career

insurancerook

I posted a reply in the becoming a state farm agent i need help on my decision and no one replied. So in this thread I will re write it and hope to get some answers.

ok so here is the my situation guys i hope you can help. I am a college student 20 years old graduating next march/apr. Recently I have been going on various interviews to see where my career lies. I do not have kids nor a wife. Single and living at home looking for doors to open up. I think going the insurance route will be good for me to start out. Recently I went to a state farm interview and talked to an agent that was going to hire me.
He loved how enthusiastic I was and said I can really do good. Now, he then said I would have to take the P&C, life and health insurance licensing for my state(New Jersey by the way). He said that State Farm pays for it if working full time. So i gave him my availability which is tues thurs fri sat fully flexible. That causes me to not be full time because i have class on Monday including a night class and on Wednesday I get out at 1 or 2:30. So he told me to search schools that would let me do it at the evenings from 6 to 10. I received a call from him the next day giving me a proposition and have me think about it. His proposition was he would bring me in part time paying like12/hr and hire someone full time instead because he really needs someone.
He believes by hiring me part time I can get my feet wet and learn what to do when the time comes. Then he said that by April I have to be licensed and he will let his full time person go and I will take her spot he will let her go because he doesn't think she can grow with the company and although she is licensed she doesn't have half of the potential that i have but in order to do this i will have to be licensed.