Need some prospecting help

hockeyrules101

WV
First off this is one of the most informative forums I have been on. I've been in the business for about 8 months and prospecting is by far one of the hardest things to do and do well. I work as a captive agent and my company does no advertising at all. I do my own marketing and advertising and the cost is adding up. I do get referrals but not enough to generate a more than average earning. My question is what is the best way to generate new prospect? How do you turn a person out in public into a possible client? How do you turn the person sitting next to you into a client? Generally I am looking for some of the best ways to approach people that are out and try to turn them into clients. I don't want to depend on family and friends. That will put me in the same situation in not developing enough clients. Any advice, tricks, tips are all greatly appreciated.

When I learned how to knock doors and cold call on businesses and homes, my prospecting troubles went away. I seriously have all the free leads I could ever want. Go out there and talk with people face to face, network, get referrals, just go out there and do it. I am telling you- it is easier than it sounds. It sounds tough to just pull something out of thin air, but really it is not.

Just be you..... people love sincerity..... start a "CONVERSATION" and you'll find that you can quickly and simply say what you do and how you help people. Think of it this way.... what problem do you solve for people.

Here's and example..... I work primarily in the group market, so when people ask what I do I might say "I help disabled executives keep their income."

Anyway, come up with some one-liners, open-ended...... "Happy with your health insurance" No one says yes.

When all else fails.... just say "Need any insurance?" It has been stated that 5% of the public is looking to buy insurance at any given minute.... so eventually you'll find one of those 5%'er's