New Agent Looking For Advice

KenoKat88

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
Hi all,
First off Happy Holidays to everyone!

I would like to ask for some opinions and advice. I'm just getting started and now it's sink or swim time. I'm taking my knowledge to the streets so to say!

I spent the last month reading and researching my product(s). For now I'm focusing on Foresters products. I didn't want to get overwhelmed at first so I focused on one company. I still have enough in the savings that I can walk away if Foresters is not the right fit. Right now I want to focus on presentation and the best ways to prospect. My budget took a hit this fall when I had to take care of my mom for 3 months. So as of now I'm not financially set for doing a costly postcard campaign. What I do have is: people I use to work with (got a few nibbles here and I'm running quotes), I live in huge apartment complex (going to ask leasing dept. if I can hang up advertising material) And the big one is my brother has a established hobby business. His clientele is perfect it's a mix of young families and elderly. So this is where I'm looking for feedback and advice. It's one thing to tell people you sell insurance (they smile and say that's nice and walk away) and it's another to have the smoothe way of getting them to know they might need my services.

I thought of setting a table up at his shop and next to him at different venues. And every other week the club members go to a school gymnasium and do an indoor "fly-in". So I'm looking for an approach. Insurance is an emotional sale and I don't want to feel like the grim reaper or a Debbie downer at his events. I know I have to get that feeling and thought out of my head and look at it as I'm helping people. But how? What type of approach should I use?