New Agent Looking For What It Will Be Like In The Industry

Qadvisor

Hello Everyone,

I am a brand new independent insurance agent, just graduated from college this past May. I'm specialize in Homeowners and Auto insurance; in the state of Pennsylvania. I just wanted to hear some valuable tips on what I should be doing, and what to expect. Like I said, I am new and I have a degree in marketing, but I am not 100 percent sure where to begin and what to expect in the life as and Independent Insurance Agent. I have made many calls and are use to rejection, but just hoping for some different methods that have recently worked for fellow agents.

Thanks everyone!

Work harder than the guy next to you, which in your case seems like it would be ins1983

Hello Everyone,

I am a brand new independent insurance agent, just graduated from college this past May. I'm specialize in Homeowners and Auto insurance; in the state of Pennsylvania. I just wanted to hear some valuable tips on what I should be doing, and what to expect. Like I said, I am new and I have a degree in marketing, but I am not 100 percent sure where to begin and what to expect in the life as and Independent Insurance Agent. I have made many calls and are use to rejection, but just hoping for some different methods that have recently worked for fellow agents.

Thanks everyone!

Reach out to Thomasm on the forum, he seems to offer good advice for marketing p&c insurance.

Offer to do something for others. For example-go around to local car dealerships and let them know you can help them sell a car by providing immediate insurance binders/id cards to their customers who may need help. Visit real estate agencies and let them know you can provide home insurance quotes quickly and produce binders on the spot-help them sell homes. I have always offered to fill-out the dmv forms for my clients-especially useful to my international customers who don't understand how things work here. BE better than an 800 number.