New agent need advice

dder04

Hi, I'm new to the insurance world and learning more as I go on day by day. I have read many of your posts and they have helped a lot. I have posted 2 threads, but hardly get any responses if any. So I thought maybe, if I write more about my self I can get more help.

I am in the process of opening an insurance agency in El Paso, TX, I have worked in my fathers business which is a used car dealership for 5 yrs. Before that I worked at the gas utility company here in customer service for 3 yrs. I have wanted to open an insurance agency for a while now and I'm finally doing it, my sister is a notary public and registers vehicles for people buying cars from my dad or her own personal customers. Everybody need insurance to register a vehicle and she sends all of her business to an insurance company that is quite far from where were at, and she has a lot of business, and so does my father. My dad is behind me all the way and has lent me the money to start up and he also owns apartments in the back of his dealership and we remodeled one into an office.

I have my p&c and life, health and accident license. I was going to go with Allstate, but at the end it didn't work out they said I was approved and the next day they said they had to think about it. I think being independent would be better for me, because I can help the customers we deal with more, by giving them better prices. I have my e&o insurance as well, and I'm just waiting for my insurance agency license, before I can get appointments. I have read posts where they say that you need a book of business to get appointments, has no one ever started out without a book of business? I know it will be work and I'm aware that I'm not not going to get rich quick. I hope you guys can help me by giving advice and sharing your comments.

Thanks any help is greatly appreciated!