New Agent needs Contract Question Answered

ccage

Expert
I am a newly Licences Life Agent. I know quite a few agents that I am friends with but I can't seem to get this question answered clearly without one saying "sign up with us and I will teach you everything."

I have a Question about Contracting with a firm. So I my basic understanding is you are an Independent Contractor and become contracted with a carrier.

What is Captive vs. Non- Captive. I know an agent who basically told me he is Captive for Final Exspense through one carrier but said if he wanted to sell a product like mortgage protection through another or multiple ones.

What is an MGA, IMO and how do you become one. Does everyone start out as an agent then work up, or can you just walk in and become one. I ask an agent how do you become an MGA, and his response was like it was this amazing almost un-attainible feat like becoming a Black Belt in Karate. Another Told me that he became an MGA when he walked in but it was because he was a recruiter and had lead generation experience in his previous carreer.

Insurance seems almost like the same model as Real Estate, You have a Broker who has Agents under him, then when you qualify to be one you can become a Broker so you can have agents under you, or you can go off on your own and form your own firm.

Any help with this would be great

What is Captive vs. Non- Captive. I know an agent who basically told me he is Captive for Final Exspense through one carrier but said if he wanted to sell a product like mortgage protection through another or multiple ones.

I'll help you understand this through the eyes of traditional life insurance companies.

New York Life and Northwestern Mutual life are captive companies. You (generally) cannot sell their products unless you are contracted through them. When you leave, your clients belong to them. You may be able to sell other companies, but usually after a "first right of refusal" by your captive company.