New Agent Needs Products to Sell

optimalprime

Greetings to all on this superb forum.
I'm a newly licensed producer for Life, Accident, and Health Insurance. I do not want to become a captive agent unless I have to, and read from many others on the forum that they wished they started out as, or otherwise recommend going independent.

I've read several threads for advice on starting out, especially DHK's "Guidance for New Life Agents" and CrabcakeJohnny's "Becoming an Independent Insurance Agent" threads... All excellent stuff to reread again and again...

However, I need specific, detailed guidance on how to get insurance products to sell to prospective clients... After all, what good is an insurance agent who has no insurance products to sell, right?

I am not currently captive at any company, I just got my licenses. While I have some training on the art of canvassing, door knocking, cold calling, and presenting & closing -- general how-to-do-the-work... I do not have products to sell. I would like to sell Life (Basic, Term, Whole, Universal, etc), Critical Illness, Medicare Supplements, etc. But I need products to sell to prospective clients, and I have none since I don't represent any insurance company.

I do not know the first thing about trying to find an IMO or group of other independents to take me on as a newbie to mentor. Starting my own agency is out of the question too.
I've read others say to be a broker. What is the process and benefits of that? What does it require?

All I know is that I would need to get E&O insurance for myself for sure.

Basically: What do I need to do at this point, now that I got my license, to get started selling insurance without working as a captive agent for a company?

Many thanks in advance, my fellow producers and veterans. I am looking forward to getting started!

Last edited:
Optim......
One of the first thing people want to know is "What state are you in"?