New Agent Salary and Commission Question

heavenborn

I'm completely new to the insurance sales business. I have a life accident and health license and recently got a job at a small allstate agency.

The executive agent is 84 and has been with allstate for about 40 years, for the past few weeks I've been coming into the office and I made 2 sales so far.

This morning I discussed my salery with him, I was told he would give me 200 a week and 20 percent of life contracts I sell. I don't know whether this is acceptable or an insult, so I'd like to have some opinions as to whether or not this is a good starting salery and commission rate.

Tl; Dr
I'm new to the insurance business , I'm being paid 200 a week and 20 percent of life contracts I sell, is this good?

Re: New Agent Salery and Commission Question

I'm completely new to the insurance sales business. I have a life accident and health license and recently got a job at a small allstate agency.

The executive agent is 84 and has been with allstate for about 40 years, for the past few weeks I've been coming into the office and I made 2 sales so far.

This morning I discussed my salery with him, I was told he would give me 200 a week and 20 percent of life contracts I sell. I don't know whether this is acceptable or an insult, so I'd like to have some opinions as to whether or not this is a good starting salery and commission rate.

Tl; Dr
I'm new to the insurance business , I'm being paid 200 a week and 20 percent of life contracts I sell, is this good?

Since your brand new, and need training I think its not a bad deal. Having some kind of guaranteed income when your learning the business would be nice to have.
But, once you feel like you have a handle on things (for most people that is about 6-12months down the road) you are going to want a significantly higher commission. probbly in the range of 80-100+% for life insurance