New Agent

Hey I'm a new agent and I'm learning the ropes and rules of the game. A few months ago I didn't even know how to get health insurance. Can you guys tell me any tips to #1 learn the lingo, #2 learn the plans, and #3 better explain the plans to customers?

#1 Keep reading this forum. However, what is really important is being able to convert insurance jargon into terms that your clients can intuitively understand.
#2 Read the outline of coverage for one plan and learn it well. Make sure that you know what a deductible, copay and coinsurance are. Know what services they apply to. Pay special attention to what medical services the deductible applies to. Know what "Out of Pocket" maximum means.

After you have mastered the ins and outs of one policy move to another, then another.

This process may take days. However, eventually you will be able to scan and understand an outline of coverage of policy you haven't seen before quickly enough to do it in front of a client.

3#
  1. Write out your description of the first plan.
  2. Then practice with a tape recorder (or whatever 21st century voice recording device that will do the trick).
  3. Pay attention to how your clients react. Keep refining your description.
  4. Write your revised script down. Go back through the steps if you think you should.

Listen

Last edited:
Hey I'm a new agent and I'm learning the ropes and rules of the game. A few months ago I didn't even know how to get health insurance. Can you guys tell me any tips to #1 learn the lingo, #2 learn the plans, and #3 better explain the plans to customers?

Alston, had very good suggestions. I would also add, don't be afraid to call the carriers with questions. The carrier reps will have a lot of time on their hands shortly after all the billing issues are resolved.

I tell all my clients that when we evaluate a plan, there are four things that vary by each plan that you need to understand: