New and Starting from Scratch

CR in STL

Expert
I am newly licensed and my preference is to start my own company from scratch and am aware of the challenges of no direct appointments. I have many years of sales experience and plenty of contacts so referrals shouldn't be an issue however my main concern is product and industry knowledge.

1. Other than the obvious learning by doing it what is a good place or way to learn industry and product information (books, seminars Etc)

2. Are the designations worth the time and money (I know they won't impress a customer) for the information I would learn

3. I heard of some insurance school out of state, don't remember the name

I am impressed that you are very open of starting your own company. Insurance is a very broad subject and learning its strategies is a continuous process. Research, seminars, and interviews from those who are very active on this field will help a lot. Good luck and more power to you!

I am newly licensed and my preference is to start my own company from scratch and am aware of the challenges of no direct appointments. I have many years of sales experience and plenty of contacts so referrals shouldn't be an issue however my main concern is product and industry knowledge.

1. Other than the obvious learning by doing it what is a good place or way to learn industry and product information (books, seminars Etc)

2. Are the designations worth the time and money (I know they won't impress a customer) for the information I would learn

3. I heard of some insurance school out of state, don't remember the name
1. To learn product and its features, you should use your GA and Carriers. Carriers often have seminar/webinar available you can participate. Your GA should offer you some product training.