New Commercial P&C agent - could use some help

raxx

Hey all,

Been licensed for 4 months and lurking here for about 3. I've read just about every thread in the P&C section about commercial lines and new agent goals and commission splits. For the past 3 months I've been eating breathing and sleeping insurance (commercial lines mostly), and well. I could use some help.

About 6 months ago a long time client (i worked as a freelance I.T. person/tech consultant) approached me the 2nd time in about 3 years. Convinced me to get licensed. sold me the dream, and said he would support me while I got on my feet. He knows he's training a commercial P&C agent from scratch, and I know I'm going to be in over my head for quite a while. IA by the way, not captive.

Split is like this
50% new business (after exceeding 2k in commission split)
50% renewals (after exceeding 2k in commission split)
2-3 person service staff to service my book (none of which I'm paying for)
2k a month in stipend until profitable or I get fired or quit

It's my understanding that is one hell of a good deal and it's basically unheard of for a lot of reasons. 1. Training a commercial P&C agent from zero insurance knowledge is crazy, it's a much more complicated side of the business especially in a newbies eyes. 2. I'm getting service staff for free. 3 I'm getting a stipend as a cushion while I figure things out. So that's a blessing and I'm very grateful.

Here's my numbers

5.5k in gross premium on commercial accounts the whole time I've been here for 3 months.

Terrible, right?