New Health Agent in Need of Help...

Mari

Hello to everyone,

I am a new agent, who could use some help, recommendations, or possibly some insight.

I found this forum after speaking with a man from Pa.

The man is Over 50, Cobra soon to expire, and with a pre-existing condition that might(?) otherwise make him uninsurable.

I noticed that a BX has/had(?) an affordable compliant plan for up to $35,000. Small, but immediate...

This started me wondering,

Once a compliant plan is exhausted, can an individual transfer directly to another Blue GI, and if so, is the pre-existing then waived?

TIA of your replies.. :)

Hello somarco,
Thank you for responding..

PX's are...

Heart Attack (11) yrs ago.
Peripheral Neuropathy
Catheterization (every 9 mos)
physician tear, leading to a vein graft. ( assume bi-pass regardless of the reason?)

I would say the prospects only hope is HIPAA GI.

To be HIPAA eligible, you must meet certain criteria

If you are HIPAA eligible in Pennsylvania you are guaranteed the right to buy individual health insurance policies and are exempted from pre-existing condition exclusion periods. To be HIPAA eligible, you must meet all of the following:

· You must have had 18 months of continuous creditable coverage, at least the last day of which was under a group health plan.
· You also must have used up any COBRA or state continuation coverage for which you were eligible.
· You must not be eligible for Medicare, Medicaid or a group health plan.
· You must not have health insurance. (Note, however, if you know your group coverage is about to end, you can apply for coverage for which you will be HIPAA eligible.)
· You must apply for health insurance for which you are HIPAA eligible within 63 days of losing your prior coverage.