New in Biz in FL w/General lines, Life & health

Boxer3246

I am in South FL looking for advice to my first move in insurance. Transitioning from the mortgage underwriting world, I just acquired my life,health & VA in October & general lines agent (2-20) in december. I have been an investment broker in the past so marketing/gathering leads is not a problem for me. Also was a bank manager for wachovia so cross-selling, is also well known to me. I also have my mortgage broker license.

I am not sure what my first step needs to be to maximize the usage of my insurance licenses. I would expect to focus on the life insurance ( I have sold fixed & variable annuities in the past) & P & C (w/the general lines license), but want the option to do other business or know enough to refer them if I cant do it.
What kind of base salary can I expect with these to start with? Any names of companies that would seem like a good fit would also help. Anything to look for when getting hired;training programs non-compete,commission structure;residuals is also much needed and welcome advice.

Thank you.

Welcome to the wonderful world of insurance! This career seems like the growth pattern for a lot of mortgage brokers lately.

This will be different than your used to with mortgages, where you had relatively low quantity, but high per per transaction. Here, it's higher quantity, but lower $$$ per deal, especially true if you're in the P&C side. If you focus on P&C, it's really about residuals.

I have no idea how to answer your questions above, since most of it has to do with what YOU want to do. There are many paths to success, but you pretty much have to pick a path that is attractive to you, not everyone else.