New Independent Agent - Looking for Feedback

applecali

Hi everyone!

I am just getting started in the insurance industry, working as a producer for an independent agency ($8 million annual premium). My fiance's father started the agency in the early 90's and is still working as the owner and agent. The agency sells 75% commercial and 25% personal lines. Very little life or health. He invited me to join earlier this year as a producer, and I left my corporate sales job (in consumer goods) to join the family business. The agency has over 150 carrier placements and is a member of a cluster.

I've passed the state P&C and Life & Health exams, and am now ready to rock and roll !!!

I wanted to lay out my situation, and get feedback on if I am on the right track or not?

Where my head is at:
1. Take care of the client/customer and everything else falls into place
2. I am in it for the long haul and have made peace with the fact that it is going to take years to get fully established (my fiance has a stable, good paying job and will help us stay afloat until I get on my feet).
3. I want to get deeply involved in our local community and various associations (Rotary, volunteering, etc).
4. I need to remind myself to be patient
5. I want to get to the point where I can be selective with who I take on as my client

My sales plan:
1. Talk to 10 people about our business per day (cold calls, in conversation, while networking.
2. Create referral networks from realtors, loan agents, community leaders, current clients, CPA's, etc.
3. Actively contribute in social media (Facebook, twitter, maybe a blog)
4. Continue to learn each week from books, journal articles, web forums (like this!) and mentors
5. Never give up

I am starting small with BOP's for salons, landscapers, janitorial services and then moving on to other arenas after that.