New Insurance Broker trying to get Appointed...

allsourceinsurance

Hello everyone! First off, I would like to introduce myself. I am a young professional in Southern California that recently acquired his P&C and Life Licenses in the State of Caliornia. I am interested in being involved in this community and so far from what I have read and can see, it is very helpful!

I am starting up my own insurance brokerage and am in the process of getting appointments through different companies. Most of the major insurance companies have requirements such as having your own book of business and several years of experienc in the industry. Since I am new to the business, I really don't meet those qualifications.

I was wondering if you guys could reccomend some good Life & P&C Insurance Companies that are easier to get appointed with as a start-up broker.

Thanks in advance!

Life and Health is no problem. No company I know of requires an existing book.

P&C is a different story. Unless you want to sell a narrow range of products (high risk auto, surplus lines stuff, etc.), carriers will require a book of business. The only way I know of getting started is to buy an agency.

Good luck.

Rick

I have to add in my 2 pennies here since I ran into the same problem when I drove an hour to woodland hills to meet with New York Life only for them to tell me in 2 minutes that since I didn't have an existing book of business or 200 plus possible prospects I couldn't be an agent for them.
:arghh:
But as far as if you want to be independent besides some companies (health) wanting you to submit your first case to be appointed you can get contracts no problem. I am new as well but wanted to throw that in there since I ran into the same situation. Good luck to you.

Hi Allsourceinsurance,