New Life Agent in NC - Major Anxiety

newncagent

Expert
Hello everyone. I am a new life agent in eastern NC. I passed my exams a few days ago and am just waiting for all of the paperwork to be finalized to get my appointment with American General (a subsidiary of AIG).

I am new to the field having worked in manufacturing management my entire career. It was simply fate that landed me here I suppose. I got an e-mail from the General Manager who liked my resume when he saw it on monster.com. He thought I would be a good fit, and after meeting with them a few times and researching the industry I felt like it would be something that I could do well and would enjoy.

Part of American General's pre-employment process is to have a prospective candidate do what they call Market Surveys. Essentially some basic questions about the insurance industry and then explaining that I am considering a position with the company, and I ask the people I am surveying if they would allow me the courtesy of watching a 20 minute video presentation if I do start working with AG.

I am new to the state and while I do have some family here, I don't know many people. I've joined a church and the Ruritans club trying to branch out and meet folks. I was told yesterday that my tentative start date will be March 17th and they want me to have 100 names to call the day I start. I did the 10 market surveys they gave me and I'll be able to come up with more names, but I'm not sure that I can come up with 100 names.

So now I am suffering from some major anxiety.

Let me say that this is something that I really want to do. I see it as an honorable profession and I love the idea that I will be providing product and services that help people. And the people at AG seem very knowledgeable and have been very nice to me. It seems to be a great working environment.