new member, new agent, starting with penn life.

midsouthagent

Hello all this will be my first post and I am a brand new agent and finished a meeting with a manger from penn life. Can anyone give me an outsiders opinion of penn life? He gave me the entire spill, all the different products they have... First year earnings anywhere from 50-62K, he also added just for meeting average production standards they will give me anywhere from 500-2000 per month for the first year. 50-60 leads per week to work, I can travel or I can stay local. These leads are free to the agent or I can pay 15 dollars a pop to have the appointment pre-set not mandatory though. This managers claims they are only experiencing a 4% chargeback ratio. Speaking of chargebacks Penn Life opens up an account for every agent and deposits 1000 dollars each month to take care of chargebacks.

I know I am "green" and brand new but does this sound too good to be true? Anyone have any experience with Penn Life. Second year I should make 80K, Third year 100Kplus.

More realistic financial projection;

1st year maybe 30K (if you're good)
2nd 50
3rd 65

These managers will tell you anything to meet their recruiting goals.

You have less than a 1% chance of 100K in the third year. Ask them how many people have achieved that recently.

The company is immaterial.

Did you ever work for Penn Life? Just curious.

Doesn't matter. As I told you the company is immaterial. I have seventeen years of experience in the business, including sales management positions with very large insurance companies (life/health/P&C). Have worked for myself for the last four years.

Less than 1% of folks EVER make six figures in the insurance business, never mind in the third year working with a second tier carrier.