New to Insurance -IMO or Broker Recommendations

AgentMAL

I am new to insurance in the Portland area with life/health license after over 25 years of sales success within the healthcare industry. I have been so disappointed and somewhat disillusioned after talking to numerous life insurance brokers because it seems like most of them operate more like network marketing companies. They seem to want you to spend more time (even when you're new) building a down line than selling insurance so the managers can make more and more commission off of people they've never met. And most of them told me I had to spend hundreds of dollars a week on leads to be successful, although I heard that many of the leads you pay for are re-used and not very good. Any recommendations for a starting point where I can learn and work and sell ethically without getting ripped off?:

I am new to insurance in the Portland area with life/health license after over 25 years of sales success within the healthcare industry. I have been so disappointed and somewhat disillusioned after talking to numerous life insurance brokers because it seems like most of them operate more like network marketing companies. They seem to want you to spend more time (even when you're new) building a down line than selling insurance so the managers can make more and more commission off of people they've never met. And most of them told me I had to spend hundreds of dollars a week on leads to be successful, although I heard that many of the leads you pay for are re-used and not very good. Any recommendations for a starting point where I can learn and work and sell ethically without getting ripped off?:

You've been talking to all the wrong ones, apparently. Unfortunately, there are a lot of them. The good ones don't tend to be prolific recruiters so finding them is not easy.